Forgiveness, Can you forgive?

Everything in salvation comes back to Love and forgiveness. God commanded that we love each other. Even though we do not like their ways, we are to love the person and hate the sin.

This is the hardest thing to do in this age of mankind. We tend to hate the person and despise them because of everything that they have done. How can we forgive them? God said not by your strength, by My Strength.

We need to read the Scripture from Matthew 18:21-35, to begin understanding the truth behind God’s desire that we forgive.

Consider the Servant who was forgiven a very grave debt, everything was forgiven by the King, then this servant goes out and confronts a fellow servant who owed him money and instead of forgiving the debt he has him thrown into prison till he could pay the debt.

This did not go unnoticed. The king was told of the servant’s evil deed. The King called the servant to task about his un-forgiveness reminded him that he had been forgiven all of his debt, and then threw him into Prison and sent him to the torturers until his debt was paid.

God’s forgiveness knows no boundaries, and He requires that His children’s forgiveness be the same way. If you are a child of God, you know the depths of His love. You also know the depth of His forgiveness. It is infinite.

When we hold onto the hurts and the pains caused by others, we begin to grow bitter and angry. Sometimes the un-forgiveness of others tends to do the same thing. WE begin to get bitter if we focus on the un-forgiveness of others if we let their anger and pain overwhelm us. Our focus should be on our relationship with Jesus Christ. Everything is in His hands.

13 For to him who has shown no mercy the judgment [will be] merciless, but mercy [full of glad confidence] exults victoriously over judgment.  James 2:13 (AMP)

13 Whoever stops his ears at the cry of the poor will cry out himself and not be heard.  Proverbs 21:13 (AMP)

When we are separated from God, it is not God’s doing, it is ours. Our disobedience to the Word of God and to God Himself will cause this separation. Remember that God does not change, He is the Same Always.

This brings me to the conclusion that we cause our own separation from God.

Can you forgive the way that God forgives? Before you say no, consider the consequences that you will face. Study the scriptures and then ask the Lord Himself.

My favorite is the one that best describes what I can do. 13 I have strength for all things in Christ Who empowers me [I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him Who infuses inner strength into me; I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency].  Philippians 4:13 (AMP)

I know that I can forgive as Christ forgives; 4 Little children, you are of God [you belong to Him] and have [already] defeated and overcome them [the agents of the antichrist], because He Who lives in you is greater (mightier) than he who is in the world. 1 John 4:4 (AMP)

It is always with the strength of Jesus that we can do anything. He will take our burden if we allow Him to.

It has taken me some time to begin to understand what God has been telling me. The more that I learn I realize the more I need to learn. The more I need to spend time with Jesus Christ.

We all need to spend more time with Jesus. What are you doing to spend more time with Him?

About George

I am conservative, man of God, and I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God and my Savior. A USN Veteran,
This entry was posted in Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment