The Body and Blood of Jesus

“Take it and eat it, for this is my body.  Each of you drink from it, for this is my blood, which seals the covenant between God and his people. It is poured out to forgive the sins of many. Mark my words – I will not drink wine again until the day I drink it new with you in my Father’s Kingdom”. Matthew 26:26-29

Each name we use for this sacrament brings out a different dimension to it. It is the Lord’s Supper because it commemorates the Passover meal Jesus ate with his disciples; it is the Eucharist (Thanksgiving) because in it we thank God for Christ’s work for us; it is Communion because through it we commune with God and with other believers. As we eat the bread and drink the wine, we should be quietly reflective as we recall Jesus’ death and his promise to come again, grateful for god’s Wonderful gift to us, and joyful as we meet with Christ and the body of believers.

John 6:32 (NKJV) 32  Then Jesus said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, Moses did not give you the bread from heaven, but My Father gives you the true bread from heaven.

People eat bread to satisfy physical hunger and to sustain physical life.  We can satisfy spiritual hunger and Sustain spiritual life only by a right relationship with Jesus Christ – that is why he called himself the bread of life. But bread must be eaten to sustain life, and Christ must be invited into our daily walk to sustain spiritual life.

John 6:53-58 (NKJV) 53  Then Jesus said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink His blood, you have no life in you. 54  Whoever eats My flesh and drinks My blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day. 55  For My flesh is food indeed, and My blood is drink indeed. 56  He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood abides in Me, and I in him. 57  As the living Father sent Me, and I live because of the Father, so he who feeds on Me will live because of Me. 58  This is the bread which came down from heaven–not as your fathers ate the manna, and are dead. He who eats this bread will live forever.”

This was a Shocking message – to eat flesh and drink blood sounded cannibalistic. The idea of drinking any blood, let alone human blood, was repugnant to the religious leaders because the law forbade it. Jesus was not talking literal blood of course. He was saying that his life had to become their own, but they could not accept this concept. The apostle Paul later used the body and blood imagery in talking about Communion.

*From TBN “And Jesus Said” Special Edition.

 

About George

I am conservative, man of God, and I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God and my Savior. A USN Veteran,
This entry was posted in Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

